top of page

Possible Gun Connections

It's been a while since I have done a write up mainly due to the astounding amount of research but also due to trying to figure out the Zodiac's Halloween Card. I have my theory but am looking for the needle in the haystack so to speak. Trying my hand at the Z340 has been an interesting journey and am still attempting to crack it whether it actually tells us anything or not who can say, maybe some super computer will eventually solve it or it may forever remain a mystery.


I've also came to a certain point that I feel room for pause, going into the era of the 1970's will possibly be a continuation of what we have already seen Zodiac/JJD do, I'm in no doubt that JJD may be the most prolific serial rapist/killer we have seen. I still think it's possible in his younger teens and early twenties that there may have been a friend or two that JJD had committed crimes with, he has said that when committing the burglaries in his teens he had a friend that did this with him.


I had been taking a look at the Zodiac Police files again and something caught my attention which could be a connection with the guns used in the Zodiac crimes, JJD had committed many burglaries around Rancho Cordova and the surrounding areas and I had taken notes of some of the burglaries thought to be possible JJD crimes mentioned by the Podcast 12-26-75 I had listened to a while back.


A home that was burglarized twice on 4th May 1968 radio equipment was taken from the shed then on July 24th 1968 burglars took $600 of goods, they had entered through the rear patio, 1 typewriter was taken along with 2 x 22 caliber Winchester Rifles, 1 x 22 caliber Ruger Rifle and a Springfield Automatic Shotgun.


According to the Police files on 20th Dec 1968 Betty Lou Jenson and David Faraday were shot by a 22 caliber semi automatic - possibilities J. C. Higgins model 80 or high standard model 101. The Ammunition was Super X Copper Coated Long Rifle


In 1969 April the 16th another home was burgled by the Piggy Bank Thief which is thought to be connected to JJD, from this home there was a Shotgun, Rifle, Movie Camera stolen as well as the piggybank and it's contents.


4th July 1969 Darlene Ferrin and Michael Mageau were shot with 9mm semi automatic, possibilities regarding manufacturer were Browning, Smith & Wesson, Star, Astra, Llama, Neuhausen, Zebrojoka, Husqvarna or Esperanza. The Ammunition was 9mm Winchester Western.


I am no gun expert but the Winchester Rifles and the Springfield are especially of interest regarding the murder of Betty Lou Jenson & David Faraday. The possibility that JJD stole many guns means he would have an never ending supply of guns to choose from with no connection to himself. Zodiac changed the gun he used as in the case of Paul Stine where a 9mm semi automatic was used, possibly a newer model browning with the 9mm Winchester Western bullets.


Given that these crimes were committed so many years ago I doubt the guns will ever surface unless they were kept by the killer. There have not been any reports of the items found in JJD's home and if any were of interest regarding his crimes. I am of the thought that JJD had a secret place where no one could find him, whether a mobile home, cabin who knows there still remains a lot to uncover.


It is of interest though that the burglaries of these homes coincided quite closely with the Zodiac murders. Taking everything into account so far and through all the research I have done I firmly believe JJD to be one of the best suspects for Zodiac and if he is then he did exactly what he said he would.


I plan to set out the timeline so far noting the areas we know JJD was at the time crimes were committed as well as the similarities between the Zodiac and JJD. I had watched a documentary where Paul Holes had said that in Forensic Psychology they try to find 50 similarities between crimes before connecting them to each other so have done this in regards to the Zodiacs crimes and JJD's and was surprised at how may there is.


In regards to the Halloween Card I'm still looking into my theory but will try to carry on the timeline into the 1970's and the crimes I think could be connected to JJD and the Zodiac. I just can't get past the grumble in the gut about a certain series of murders being connected in the early 70's. I have the suspicion that innocent people were possibly framed for crimes they did not commit but until I find evidence of a solid connection I shall keep schtum.






21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page