top of page

The Z340 has been solved

There has been some amazing news in these past days regarding the Zodiac's Z340 Cipher. Many in the Zodiac community will have heard of David Oranchak and I myself have used the webtool that Oranchak uploaded in the effort to solve the code. The webtool gives people like myself who knows nothing about Crytpography the tools to try and give the cipher a go to try and solve it and it is a really great tool for beginners like myself.


David Oranchak along with fellow code breakers Sam Blake and Jan Earl Eycke have deciphered the Zodiac's Z340 cipher with Law Enforcement and the FBI confirming that the code has in fact been solved. Congratulations to these men for the commitment and time taken to decipher the code that some thought unsolvable, I am sure it will aid the investigation further and who knows what can be learned from the Zodiac's message.


There are those who say, it doesn't really tell us anything new but I beg to differ as anything can be shaken loose from the tiniest morsel of information. Due to this revelation my mind has been going over the deciphered code and thinking about what more it may tell us about the Zodiac. Below is the deciphered code which Oranchak, Blake and Eycke have given to Law Enforcement and the FBI, it reads as follows :


I HOPE YOU ARE HAVING LOTS OF FUN IN TRYING TO CATCH ME

THAT WASNT ME ON THE TV SHOW WHICH BRINGS UP A POINT

ABOUT ME I AM NOT AFRAID OF THE GAS CHAMBER BECAUSE IT

WILL SEND ME TO PARADICE ALL THE SOONER BECAUSE I NOW

HAVE ENOUGH SLAVES TO WORK FOR ME WHERE EVERYONE ELSE

HAS NOTHING WHEN THEY REACH PARADICE SO THEY ARE AFRAID

OF DEATH I AM NOT AFRAID BECAUSE I KNOW THAT MY NEW LIFE

IS LIFE WILL BE AN EASY ONE IN PARADICE DEATH


It can be said that some of the above message from Zodiac is more of the same of what we have seen previously in taunting and his talk of slaves and paradice but we do learn from the message that he had indeed watched the Belli Interview on TV and felt it necessary to tell the papers, law enforcement that he had not called in. He is not afraid of death or the gas chamber, this seems to be important to Zodiac, he does not want to be seen as weak or in need of being locked up in a mental institution which to me appears as if the man who is Zodiac is of the same ilk as Bundy, BTK where these men went about life as normal having family and ordinary day jobs but having another life kept hidden from everyone they knew.


The deciphered code has certainly got me thinking and as I looked into the town of Paradice in Northern California today, which is now spelled Paradise and a number of religious movements etc it took me back to previous material I had looked at in regard to the Zodiac cases but also the JJD cases which has shaken a few things loose for me to look into so on it goes.


I live in hope that someone out there may gain something more from the deciphered code to progress the decoding of the last two ciphers that Zodiac mailed, I don't think he would have ever given his name or anything too close to identify himself easily but the ciphers could have something more to tell us that could fit with any of the usual Zodiac suspects to reveal his true name or it may be someone completely unknown to us only time will tell.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page